A Lizard Nation…aka The Netherlands…

As a matter of fact that intrigues me about the Netherlanders is their relationship with the SUN.

Known fact is that the total annual sunshine in the Netherlands is of 38% on a solar year (best year taken in consideration, where the clouds do not win the constant battle to dominate the sky). So in a good year in The Lower Lands…the color that prevails is grey…all shades of it.

Therefore the average Netherlander seeks the sunlight and once a pale ray of sun makes its ways in the sky and breaks the grey barrier there we go…TERRASJES… yes…that is a word omnipresent in the modern dutch vocabulary  that dominates the period known to men as spring & summer…

As southern population are used to sunlight and warmth (20 degrees Celsius and above) and therefore and not obsessed with its appearance in early spring or late winter…the Netherlanders on the other hand are totally bewitched by the sun…

Image

So…TERRASJES…is a must…you must go out even if it is cold and the wind speed is close to the KATRINA HURRICANE and it feels like you might be taken to Oz…you M.U.S.T…sit for countless hours outside anything.. bar, restaurant, local pub…they build terraces even where there should be illegal to have one and EVERYONE  and I really mean everyone is outside dressed like you are in Hawaii of Fiji islands or the Sahara desert…

They forget the need to use winter jacket, scarves, coats or in most of the cases they only cover their milky white bodies with a thin t-shirt and it does not matter if there are only 13 degrees outside…there is the SUN…so they just stay there staring at it and drinking beer… until the SUN gives it place up for the Moon…

This makes me notice the similar behaviour  with lizards…

Image

Yes… Dutch Men and Women…must be related in some kind of distant way to lizards…cold blooded and obsessed with sunlight…

As we southern population originate from Homo sapiens, the tall, fair-haired, pale skinned Dutch must be related to Godzilla  or Link (from Monsters vs Aliens)…

So I struggle to adapt to this ritual of staring at the sun sitting in the multifunctional terraces open everywhere in the cities where people stand darting dirty looks to those sitting if they cannot find a spot…I make my best effort to understand Lizard nation tradition even though it makes little sense to me to stay put in the same spot rotating like a sunflower to make sure I catch every single ray of sun from every single possible angle…and raise my skin cancer chances…

They little care for the end result of looking like tomatoes and over cooked lobsters after numerous hours sitting in the terrasje…and it seem even fun to prologue the exposure hopping from a terrasje to another…all day long….

I wonder…where is the amusement is “terrasje pakken”..as they say for those looooooooooong 2 months where it is kind of warm and there is the sun…

I saw the sun before…I grew up where when we say it is warm…you’re actually frying an egg on your forehead kind of warm and when we decide to expose ourselves to the sun we use protection and can admit that looking like a strawberry it’s not cool and sexy…but just sunburned…

So my apologies if I do not do terrasjes and if I sit in the sun I seek for the shadow…I like my skin and would like to keep it for a little more years…and shading like a snake is not my favorite thing to do…and when I say to people “Look.,.I have a bit of color of me…” I do not mean all shades of cerise, crimson and carmine color…

Brown is brown anywhere in the world and RED is not a shade of it…

Leave a Reply

